ERIN LEE CARR’S MOVING TRIBUTE TO HER FATHER

Longreads

The other day I got some good news and, wanting to share it, reflexively typed “dad” into my phone. There are moments in grief when the finality sets in, and here it was: I would never be able to hear his voice again. But I’ve realized, strangely, that instead of resenting the Internet, I’m grateful for it; I can tap Dad’s name into Twitter and be flooded with the lessons he shared with others, including some he never had a chance to share with me. I don’t know what it’s like to lose a parent who didn’t lead a public life. I’m just glad my dad was out there in the world, leaving an impression on everyone he met.

-Documentary filmmaker Erin Lee Carr, in a short essay for Glamour about the impact her father David Carr had on her life and the lives of others. The beloved New York…

View original post 12 more words

Leave a Reply

